When Love Comes Calling

The Lord came and stood there, calling as at the other times, “Samuel! Samuel!”Then Samuel said, “Speak, for your servant is listening.”     Samuel 3:10

Knock-Knock.

Who’s there?

Me.

Me who?

God.

Ever receive one of those knocks at your heart? At 2 a.m.? When you really wanted to sleep instead of pray?

I have.

Received one just the other night in fact. At a time when I would have normally been fast asleep, God called for me. And you know what?

My soul had no choice but to answer .

Its not that I’d been guilty of not studying His Word. Or that I’d stepped away from the assembly of the saints. It wasn’t that I’d stopped teaching His Word. Or that I’d failed in any of my obligations towards Him. It wasn’t even that I’d stopped praying.

So why did God feel the need to call for me during time set aside for my much needed hours of rest? (Some of us need many hours of beauty rest & I’m one of them)

The truth… Because I’d stopping reaching for Him in my waking hours.

How can that be you ask?

Because… Sudying His Word isn’t the same as speaking words to Him.

Beacuse… Going to church is no substitute for going to Him.

Because… Talking about Him and talking to Him, well they aren’t the same thing either.

It had been a while since we talked, really spent time with just the two of us. No agenda. No schedule. No interruptions. And I found out He missed me. He loved me.

And He wanted me to know that.

In our heart to heart that morning I re-learned that nothing, no matter how good, substitutes true intimacy with God. The thing He desires the most from me isn’t found in just how I fill my time for Him.

But in the time I fill with Him.

Heavenly Father, Thank You for a love that calls for me. Regardless of the time. Regardless of what I’ve done. I’m humbled by Your faithfulness to me inspite of me. In Jesus’ Name I pray, Amen.

 

Leave a Reply

