A Song In The Storm

 

 
Look at the birds of the air; they do not sow or reap or store away in barns, and yet your heavenly Father feeds them. Are you not much more valuable than they?
Matthew 6:26 NIV
 
Above the roll of thunder that night I heard it. In the flash of the lightening I saw it. And though the rain fell and the wind blew, still it refused to be silenced. And even when darkness moved in and covered the sky, it refused to be swallowed by the absence of light.
 
It refused to surrender to the storm.
 
And as I listened that night to that lone creature serenading the storm, my heart was encouraged, my spirit was lifted. For though I found it odd that it did not seek shelter from the storm, I realized too that God had something to say to me about weathering my own storm.
 
I realized it wasn’t the force of the storm or its threatening presence that mattered.
Storms of any kind can be a loud and intimidating presence in our lives.
 
It wasn’t the down pours or heavy rains that mattered.
Sometimes life storms threaten to drown us with their downpour of problems that seem more than we can bear.
 
Nor was it the darkness in the storm that mattered.
Dark times do come with the storm.
 
But listening to the song I heard in that storm, I realized that what mattered wasn’t the storm at all. It was the song. And the willingness of the soul to sing it.
 
Inspite of the storm.
 
If a sparrow can sing thru its storm, why can’t I?
 
And as if He’d signed a permission slip with my name on it, I knew God had spoken. That He’d given me something I was overlooking in my own storm. My joy, my peace, my happiness had not come from the storm, they were gifts God Himself had given me long before the storm was ever on my horizon. They didn’t belong to the storm, so I could not surrender them in the storm.
 
And so as that song did for me that night and as God reminded me, I pass on to you my sister, my friend. Don’t give to your storm what it doesn’t deserve. Refuse to surrender to it. Hold on to your joy. Abide in His peace. Rest in His happiness. Sing your song.
 
Inspite of your storm.
 
 
Indeed, the very hairs of your head are all numbered.
Don’t be afraid; you are worth more than many sparrows.
Luke 12:7 NIV
Leave a Reply

