Small Sprouts & Lesson Learned

Like everyone else, I’ve found myself lately wishing for winter to be over. Done. This winter season has stretched the patience of the most die-hard winter enthusiast. Colder than usual temperatures, more snow than we’ve seen in years, and harsher than usual travel and road conditions has rendered most of us more than a little winter weary.
Who can blame us, right?
But the other day, I saw something that not only gave me hope and a glimpse of what was to come, but it also taught me a much needed lesson.
Pushing it’s way up thru the hard earth, I saw a small flower sprout. This small sprout, no bigger than one of my fingers, dared to claim a place among those things that had let go, that had fallen under winter’s harsh hand. In a place where dead limbs and dead branches surrounded it on both sides, it stood its ground and dared to live, dared to grow.
And you know what? Watching that small sprout bravely and courageously stand its ground (no pun intended) a lesson was played out for me. 
A lesson that spoke contentment instead of complaining. A little sprout  content to grow. Content in the season it found itself living in. Content to stand inspite of what had fallen around it. Content right where it was, right at the moment it was there. Some day it would be a flower, with petals and blooms and a fragrance that would fill the air around it. But for the moment, it was content. Right where it was.
Amen. To little sprouts. To lesson learned. To a God who still teaches.
As for winter? It will pass, it always does. And so will the season of life we find ourselves currently living in. But let’s take a lesson from a little sprout and dare to become content. Inspite of winter. Inspite of who or what surrounds us. Inspite of what things look like now. Let’s purpose to push on, to grow, to bloom.
Right where we are.
I know what it is to be in need, and I know what it is to have plenty. I have learned the secret of being content in any and every situation, whether well fed or hungry, whether living in plenty or in want. I can do all this through him who gives me strength.
Phillipians 4:12, 13
Leave a Reply

