Daffodil Lessons

I’m not a gardener. In fact I was born with a brown thumb, not a green one. Just ask the girl at work who asked me to water her plant for her while she was out on vacation. Poor dear, she might as well have asked that plant for the name of it’s next of kin and a copy of it’s living will. That poor plant never had a chance with me and my brown thumbs.

Thank goodness no one has told the daffodils that bloom in my yard about my lacking gardening skills. Or I’m sure those poor flowers would run for the hills or at least next door to my neighbor’s house who is all green thumbs. You see, the previous owner of my house planted those daffodil bulbs many years ago, and true to promise, year after year they bloom right where they were planted. Their presence lends something beautiful to my otherwise drab and garden/flower-less yard. They make me look good even though I had nothing to do with their presence in my yard in the first place.

As I looked at those gorgeous flowers today, I realized something that I hadn’t really thought about before. Not only do these flowers come up where they’re planted, but they add something that wasn’t there before they came. Their bold beauty simply and quietly add to my yard in a most awesome way. For the moments that they stand in place, no one knows the owner doesn’t have a green thumb. No one cares, not even the flowers themselves. They simply do what they were created to do.

I saw a quote once that said,” Bloom where you’re planted.” Those flowers showed me that that’s not only possible, but its just as it should be. How many of us spend years of our lives trying to be or morph ourselves into something we were never meant to be or to do in the first place? We spend years trying to get from this place to that place, this level to that level in our careers and professional lives and yet still feel unfulfilled and incomplete somehow.

Don’t get me wrong, there is absolutely nothing wrong with pursuing goals and dreams and advancing in those areas of life that are important to you. But like these flowers, we too can bloom where we are planted. A flower isn’t a flower based on where it’s planted. Its a flower inspite of where it’s planted.

So no matter where we find ourselves in life, we too can be who we were created to be, right where we already are. If like me you love the written word, you don’t have to wait to see your name in a book before you call yourself a writer. You’re a writer because you write, not when you get to a certain place in life. We don’t have to wait until we get to some place else to become who we already are. And like these flowers we too can lend the best of who we are to those places and people already around us. We can let our light shine with the light we already have.

I’ll never have green thumbs, I’ve made peace with my brown ones, and I’m ok with that. I’m retiring my brown thumb (and flowers everywhere can breathe a sigh of relief). Instead, my new hope is to join flowers everywhere with being who I am, where I am. And to be the best at that that I possibly can. Because in doing that, I make my Creator look good.

What about you?

Leave a Reply

