Morning Gatherings and Everyday Miracles

This morning while traveling into work, the morning sky so captivated my attention that it simply took my breath away.

Winter here in Indiana means night lingers a lot longer than the day does, so I wasn’t suprised to see the sky still dark at an hour that normally would have been much lighter. But as I saw glimpses of light seeping through the darkness, I knew that daylight wasn’t too far off.

But it was the clouds that most captivated my attention.  Single clouds and clusters alike were moving in one accord as though they were of one mind. I watched them as they gathered at an invisible skyline. It was as though they stood waiting for an unseen guest.

I also watched in amazement as a flock of geese flying in a perfect V formation raced to join the clouds. It was as if heaven had called a morning meeting to give last minute instructions before everyone and everything took their perspective positions and places for the day.

And then I saw it.

In a blaze of the warmest hues of red that I’d ever seen, I watched as it began it’s climb above the earth. In no particular hurry, it slowly flooded the sky with breath taking shades of color that not even the most skilled artist could duplicate. At one point in it’s ascent, I could have sworn it paused just to make sure that all eyes were on it. Not in a selfish, self serving way, but in a way that spoke of unimaginable blesssings and promises.

As I sat taking in that majestic splendor, I felt as if anything was possible.

And when at last it sat, this awaited guest of the morning sky, and took it’s rightful place upon that throne room sky, I felt as if I was in the presence of royalty.  For in that moment nothing moved, nothing mattered. And I realized what an incredible gift I’d just been given.

At that morning gathering I was graced with seeing the miracle of a sunset that blessed me for my entire day. Like those clouds and geese, I too I had been given an unexpected blessing to start my day.

Now I know to some folks, theres nothing spectacular or exceptional about watching a sunrise or sunset for that matter. But as we move towards the New Year, let me encourage us all to purpose in our hearts to take a moment for our “sunrises” and small miracles that surround us everyday. Its so easy to let those moments go unnoticed and unacknowledged in our haste to get on with the business of living.

But within those precious moments are unimaginable gifts that can serve to bless us for a lifetime.

3 thoughts on “Morning Gatherings and Everyday Miracles

  1. It is in the simple things that He reminds us that He is God and there is nothing that transpires that He does not allow.

    Thank you for the wonderful express of awe.

    Linda!

  2. Thanks Valerie for sharing your various inspirational writings. Whether I read them in the early morning or late in the day, I find myself meditating and applying something to my life. Thanks to you and to God for blessing you with your gift.

    MLK

Leave a Reply

