A New Song

 A bird doesn’t sing because it has an answer, it sings because it has a song.                                   -Maya Angela

This morning I was awakened by a chorus of chatty little birds outside my window.

Although the sun had not yet put in an appearance, it didn’t seem to matter to these talkative little creatures. I lay there listening as they called to each other and chirped among themselves. It was almost as if they were having a family reunion of sorts with everyone greeting each other and talking all at once.

 

And I was convinced they were all gathered around my bedroom window.

 

They were quite unashamedly loud for 5 a.m  Didn’t they know I was trying to get my last hour of sleep?

The nerve!

Oblivious to my distress, they chatted on, and no amount of wishing on my part could wish my fine feathered friends to someone else’s yard. In fact the longer I lay there, the nosier they seemed to get. 

 

I was just about to admit defeat and get out of bed, when suddenly over their noisy chatter rose a sound so melodiously sweet, that all other sound and noise faded to the background.

Somewhere amidst the chatter and chirp of all the others, one bird began to sing.

His small voice didn’t compete with the chatter of the other birds, instead he blended with their chorus and the sound that delighted my ears was so perfect that not even the world’s most accomplished symphony could have achieved it.

How like God to use nature to teach me what I had temporarily forgotten.

A new day was a gift, not a privilege.

 

If a small, seemingly insignificant little bird had the courage to began his morning with a song in his heart and praise on his lips, why couldn’t I?

Here was a creature who was homeless, at least by our standards. It lived at the mercy of nature’s elements everyday, searching and hunting his food daily. His was not a life of luxury such as I knew with a warm bed and cozy home.

And yet still it sang as though it had something to be thankful for.

Needless to say, I didn’t need my alarm clock to wake me up.

I had already had my wake up call

And how sweet it was.

…Sing unto the Lord a new song…

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “A New Song

  1. How lovely this is, and what a great reminder of what a precious gift each new day is! As a musician myself, I really relate to that little bird singing, joining in the chorus.

Leave a Reply

